Official Site | EPK | Facebook

Nektar's contribution over the last 40 years has quite rightly earned them their place in any 'Progressive Rock Hall of Fame'. Think Like A Key's Beyond Before takes us back to their early days with an exclusive archive audio and video ...Sounds Like Swiss.

Formed in Germany in 1969 by British expats, Nektar soaked up the musical freedom they found in their new home, favoring extended compositions and concept albums over the constraints of pop. They were among the progenitors of the progressive rock movement of the 1970s as well as the jam-band scene that arose in the late 1990s.

Their sound traveled well to the States, where they enjoyed Top 40 success with “A Tab in the Ocean” (1972) and “Remember the Future” (1973). Nearly 20 albums and a half-century later, the band’s artistic and personal charisma has earned them masses of devoted fans, who have flocked to festivals such as NearFest and ProgStock, and venues like the Wildey Theatre (where they perform multi-night sold-out shows) to indulge their passion for the Nektar experience.

For more than 50 years, Nektar has taken legions of fans on audio-visual journeys to far reaches of the universe and the depths of the ocean with their immersive blend of sight and sound. 

Currently, Nektar features three of the original members – Derek ‘Mo’ Moore (bass guitar, vocals), Ron Howden (drums, percussion, vocals) and Mick Brockett (visual environment). Ryche Chlanda (guitar, vocals) and Randy Dembo (bass guitar, bass pedals, 12-string guitar, vocals) are alums of previous Nektar incarnations. World-class multi-instrumentalist Kendall Scott completes the lineup on keyboards; his performance credits include Project/Object and Ryche Chlanda’s Flying Dreams.

Nektar tour dates


  • Journey To The Centre Of The Eye (September 1971)
  • A Tab In The Ocean (November 1972)
  • ...Sounds Like This (June 1973)
  • Remember The Future (November 1973)
  • Sunday Night At London Roundhouse (1974)
  • Down To Earth (1974)
  • Recycled (1975)
  • Live In New York (1977)
  • Magic Is A Child (1977)
  • More live Nektar In New York (1978)
  • Man In The Moon (1980)
  • The Prodigal Son (2001)
  • Greatest Hits Live (2002)
  • Unidentified Flying Abstract (2002)
  • Evolution (2004)
  • Book Of Days (2008)
  • A Spoonful Of Time (2012)
  • Time Machine (2013)
  • The Other Side (2020)
  • ...Sounds Like Swiss (2021)